Janet Guernsey Award

The Janet Guernsey Award

Do you know of an outstanding physics teacher in New England whom you think should receive recognition for his/her excellent teaching skills and methods? The NES-AAPT Selection Committee accepts nominations for the Janet Guernsey Award throughout the year. The committee is comprised of the three previous awardees. Members can nominate any college or high school physics teacher in New England. More than one nominee can be submited by the same person. Nominees will be evaluated using the following:

Excellence in Classroom Teaching

Creativity and Innovation as a Teacher

Contributing to the Strength and Growth of the School’s Physics Program

Undertaking Professional Development to Continually Improve as a Teacher

Working Effectively as a Colleague with Others in the Department

Mentoring New Teachers as Appropriate

The nominator must supply sufficient information about the above items to insure the committee can fairly evaluate the nominee.

Please send your nomination via email to any member of the executive board.

Our gratitude to Vernier Software for sponsoring this award.

Vernier Software & Technology

Congratulations to the 2019 recipient of the Janet Guernsey Award-  Andrew Duffy


Congratulations to the 2016 recipient of the Janet Guernsey Award-  Mark Greenman

Greenman_Janet Guernsey Award 2016

Congratulations to the 2013 recipient of the Janet Guernsey Award-  Keith A. Goodale

Congratulations to the 2012 recipient of the Janet Guernsey Award- Nick Nicastro

Congratulations to the 2008 recipient of the Janet Guernsey Award-  Marti Lynes

Previous Winners:

2001   Morton Sternheim

1999  Stephen Cremer

1998  Dominique Casavant

1994  Fred Myers

???? Russell Harkay

??????Bruce Illingworth

?????  Phyllis Fleming